Writing

What I Dislike About Writing

writers-block-vintage

Several days ago, I wrote the post, What I Enjoy About Writing, to express everything I like about the wonderful craft of writing. Now it’s time to explore the flipside of the equation and discuss what I dislike about writing.

Here we go:

  1. Generating ideas- Contrary to popular belief, great ideas just don’t fall out of the sky. Even after brainstorming my list of ideas tend to look bland and uninspired. Therefore, I’ve heavily relied on using my 500 Writing Prompts book for ideas lately. I hope to return to my normal standard of creative story ideas in 2017.
  2. Pressure- Just having the courage to put pen to paper is half the battle. I find myself being distracted by the simplest things before I beginning to write. Whether it be checking my social media accounts or tidying up the kitchen, I can guarantee that something will emerge to take my focus off the task at hand. It’s all a form of coping with the pressure of writing. At times, the pressure is so great that I’ll literally want to do everything I can to hold it off.
  3. Going off the rails- This is my absolute worst nightmare as a writer. This is the moment where my writing morphs from a semi-coherent narrative into a rambling mess. I try to salvage it, but to no avail. It’s a double whammy. Not only do I come to the realization that my writing simply isn’t good enough, but I also have the added displeasure of knowing that I wasted hours of valuable time in trying to make the story work.

I’ll always take the good with the bad when it comes to writing. At the same time, I believe these to be common struggles that even the most skilled writers experience.

Feel free to share any of your writing horror stories in the comments section below. I’d love to hear them.

I know you read it, now prove it!

