500 Writing Prompts: Regrets

20160818_013129

Have you ever quit anything you started and later regretted it? What was it?

Yes. I can write an entire post based on all the writing opportunities I’ve squandered over the years.

I quit my position as news editor of my student newspaper, The A&T Register, during my junior year in college. The following year I was invited back to serve as copy-desk chief and quit after a few weeks.

Shortly after graduation one of my former classmates recruited me to write for a startup publication geared toward female athletes. I initially agreed, but then got cold feet and declined. Below is an email I received after informing them of my decision.

20161213_231636

In 2012 I started a project on the top 10o WWE matches of all time. I interviewed some notable wrestling writers and got a fair amount of research done before quitting. Ditto for a article on the history of pro wrestling in North Carolina.

I quit my church newsletter and two unpaid writing gigs in 2014.

I gave up on every writing endeavor because of laziness. Do I regret it? Of course. I shudder to imagine how great of a writer I could’ve been by now had I not given up so easily.

This blog is an opportunity to prove that I can do something without quitting.

I know you read it, now prove it!

