500 Writing Prompts: Money Waster

20160818_013129

Name something expensive that you feel people waste money on.

This one is easy: clothes.

As a black male who attended a predominately black middle school and high school during the peak of urban apparel  clothing lines such as Fubu, Pelle Pelle, and Southpole, I always felt that a lot of my friends placed an emphasis on what they wore, or rather, how much money they could spend on piecing together the right ensemble.

While there is nothing wrong with owning nice things I do feel that black males have a tendency to place a higher premium on clothing than other demographics. I think a lot of it has to do with the hip-hop culture that glorifies  excessive spending on materialistic items such as clothes, cars, and jewelry.

As a child, I grew up in a comfortable middle class environment. I never thought twice about the clothes I wore and didn’t even know what a “name brand” was until the 7th grade. I just didn’t see what was so appealing about paying nearly $200 for a pair of Air Jordan sneakers. I was more comfortable in a pair of Wrangler jeans and some simple Nikes from my local Shoe Show.

My thoughts haven’t changed much two decades later.

I dress very well (at least my wife and female coworkers think so). Some of my favorite places to shop include JCPenney, Belk, Old Navy, and Kohl’s. I never shop at these stores unless there is a major sale, or without making a trip to the clearance aisle. If these stores don’t have what I’m looking for then I know I can always find a good bargain at Wal-Mart.

 

 

 

 

 

I know you read it, now prove it!

