Writers’ Wisdom- This is Hard, Lonely Work

“You most likely need a thesaurus, a rudimentary grammar book, and a grip on reality. This latter means: there’s no free lunch. Writing is work. It’s also gambling. You don’t get a pension plan. Other people can help you a bit, but essentially you’re on your own. Nobody is making you do this: you chose it, so don’t whine.”- Margaret Atwood

My interpretation: Writing isn’t easy. The quicker you come to grips with this truth, the better off they will be in the long run. There is no guarantee that the manuscript you’re slaving over will become a best seller. There is no guarantee that the blog post you’re pouring your soul into will go viral.

You can read every piece of writing advice until you feel confident enough to write the next Great American Novel. But at the end of the day you have to stop getting motivated and start putting pen to paper. It could take hours. It may require you to miss out on birthday parties and other special life moments. But it must be done if you’re remotely serious about becoming great at this.

I usually feel a sense of dread rush over me whenever I sit down to perform the deed. I’ll purposefully distract myself by checking my social media accounts. But then I begin typing. My first couple of lines may be choppy. But as long as I keep at it I know I’ll eventually produce something that’s worth reading, even if I’m the only one who thinks so.

No one is forcing me to do this. All of the pressure is 100% self imposed. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

2 thoughts on “Writers’ Wisdom- This is Hard, Lonely Work

I know you read it, now prove it!

