Don’t Let Selfishness Consume You

no-selfishness

2 Tim 3: 1-5 reads, “But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God—having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with such people.”

This is one of the verses that my pastor touched upon in service today. In my estimation, this verse is the epitome of what it means to be a selfish person.

I’ll be the first to admit that selfishness is one of the biggest areas I need to work on in my life. I’ve always known that I’ve exhibited selfish tendencies, but it really hit me today just how selfish I really am.

I’m most selfish when it comes to the time I spend with my loved ones.

I rarely visit my grandfather who hasn’t been in the best of health for the last couple of years. I’ve only visited my niece twice since she’s been born. I didn’t go down with my wife to spend Thanksgiving with her family this year. There is an elderly neighbor of mine that I rarely go to see unless my wife prompts me to. My life isn’t that busy to the point that I can’t take time out to spend with these important people. It all boils down to selfishness.

December is right around the corner and my goal is to be a less selfish person than I was from Jan.-Nov. I’m going to do this by calling, visiting, and praying more for my family and friends on a consistent basis.

It doesn’t feel good to be a selfish individual. You end up missing a lot of the colorful moments in life when you make your agenda top priority. All the extra things we waste our time with aren’t even that important in the grand scheme of things.

The goal in life is to seek the kingdom of God and then spend the rest of your time being a blessing to others in whatever way you can.

 

 

I know you read it, now prove it!

