Run Your Own Race

fb_img_1477180141643

Often times it’s easy to find yourself asking the question, “why am I not further ahead in life?”

You may not be working in your desired occupation. You may not be married by the age you thought you would be. It may seem like your friends are much better off than you are.

If you’re not careful then you will find yourself becoming jealous of your more successful peers. I can speak from experience on this matter because I occasionally find myself drifting into this thought pattern.

Whenever these thoughts cross my mind I try my best to quickly toss them into my mental trash bin. Although everything in my life isn’t going the way I’d like for it to I’m always happy whenever I hear news of my friends advancing in their lives. It gives me hope that my time is coming soon. I learned a long time ago that it’s better to run life at my own pace and not compare myself to others.

While you may not feel successful you must remember that you’re likely further along than a lot of other people. There is someone out there who wishes they were in your shoes. The very setbacks you’re facing may be God’s way of molding you into the person you’re destined to become.

There is nothing wrong with wanting more out of life, but you can’t allow yourself to get so distracted into thinking about what you don’t have. If so then you’re going to miss out on all the great things happening right in front of you.

I know you read it, now prove it!

