There Is Power In Your Voice and Your Voice Has Power

speak-up

“There is power in your voice and your voice has power”

This quote was given by a fellow Toastmasters member at a division contest I attended last Saturday.

Toastmasters is an international club whose goal is to provide a supportive and positive learning experience in which members are empowered to develop communication and leadership skills, resulting in greater self-confidence and personal growth.

I joined the Toastmasters chapter at my job about six months ago. I’ve always been a terrible public speaker and I work in a role that requires me to verbally interact with all kinds of people on a daily basis.

Our weekly meetings are designed to provide everyone in attendance a fun, nurturing environment to improve their public speaking skills.

Attending the contest was a neat experience. I even met some members who have been participating in Toastmasters for over a decade. Seeing them in action showed me that you’re never too old to stop learning.

The quote at the beginning of this post was uttered at the beginning of our contest. It really gets to the essence of what Toastmasters is all about.

So often at my job and in other places, I feel like I have a lot to say, or better yet, a lot to offer in terms of suggestions or words of encouragement, but I often let fear get in the way. I think that no one will want to hear what I have to say.

The same may go for you as well.

Regardless of where you’re at in life, you’re in a position where you have some measure of influence. There is someone in your world who needs to hear your voice. There may be times when you feel unqualified to speak up, but you will only be doing yourself a disservice if you don’t allow your unique voice to be heard.

Someone out there is waiting for you to speak up.

Don’t let yourself or them down.

 

2 thoughts on “There Is Power In Your Voice and Your Voice Has Power

  1. I love Toastmasters! I did a story on women in Toastmasters years ago, and then I joined. I’ve been thinking about going back but I don’t think I can handle one more project. Hope you’re enjoying it. I never went to a contest. Bet it was fun!

    • Thanks for commenting Jess. I never would’ve known we had this in common had I not written this. I’d love to see your Toastmasters story at some point. And yes it is a big time commitment!

I know you read it, now prove it!

