Finding Happiness

happy

I’ve come to  discover that happiness is the one thing that most of us are constantly in search of, even when we don’t actually realize it. It may sound like a cliché, but you don’t need $1 million or even $100 to experience the sensation of utter happiness.

I had a recent conversation with a coworker on this topic. We both came to the conclusion that the best way to keep a positive outlook on life is to do things that make you happy on a consistent basis.

Although I only take an official vacation once or twice per year, there are plenty of exciting activities in my everyday life to keep me occupied.

Here are a few I’d like to share with you:

  1. Spending time with my wife: There are no amount of words that can adequately describe the joy of being with the person who God specifically designed for you.
  2. Driving home from work: While it always feels good to leave work, the drive home is just as important as my time at home. I have a 20 minute commute back home and I use this time alone to mentally unwind from the stress of my day.
  3. Eating lunch on Fridays: I typically bring my lunch to work every Monday-Thursday. I treat myself to lunch every Friday at my favorite fried chicken spot.
  4. Walking in nice weather: I love to take a nice walk through my neighborhood during the spring and summer months, preferably during the early morning or late evening when it’s not too warm outside.
  5. Reading the Wrestling Observer Newsletter: I’ve been a subscriber to this publication for over a decade. I have an online subscription that includes that includes excusive articles and members only podcasts, but I still prefer the paper version that arrives in mailbox every Monday.
  6. Watching any good wrestling match: Good wrestling is always better than bad wrestling. This week’s New Day vs. Chris Jericho/A.J. Styles match on Raw was one of the best matches I’ve seen this year.
  7. Going to a bookstore or library: I’m a self-confessed bibliophile that can stay inside these places for hours.
  8. Having good, meaningful discussions with my coworkers: I view my coworkers as an extended family and always enjoy the moments when we get to discuss important non-work related matters. Most of these conversations tend to occur early in the morning before our day really intensifies.
  9. Watching The FBI Files: Next to Forensic Files, this is my all-time favorite true-life criminal investigation series I have all 7 seasons on DVD.
  10. Writing: Although the process can be anything but fun at times, there is no fling on earth like the one I experience when I’m able to fully convey my thoughts onto paper.

My purpose in writing this is to show that you don’t need a ton of money to enjoy all that life has to offer. You can start doing so right now.

So let me ask, what makes you happy?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Finding Happiness

  1. I’m a big fan of #4. Taking my dogs for walks or sometimes just sitting in a quiet place outside is so rejuvenating. It always improves my mood and puts my mind at ease.

    • I agree with you 100% Jamie. It’s the little relaxing moments that can make all the difference in how your day goes! Thank you for reading and commenting.

  2. Good article! My top 3 are: 1)Spending time with friends and family, 2)Putting on my pajamas when I get home from work and relaxing, 3)Drinking a hot cup of black tea with honey.

    • Thanks Portia! I definitely feel you on #2. The first thing I do everyday when I get home from work is take off the business clothes as quickly as possible and slip into a t-shirt and sweatpants. I feel so good afterwards.

I know you read it, now prove it!

