Happy Labor Day to You

Labor Day

In honor of Labor Day I’d like to take this moment to celebrate the millions of Americans out there making an honest living for themselves and their families.

According to the U.S. Department of Labor website, Labor Day is set aside to honor the social and economic achievements of American workers and the contributions they have made to the strength, prosperity, and well being of our country.

Colossians 3:23 reads, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters.”

This scripture makes me think back to the five years I spent working as a bagger. Aside from bagging groceries my main responsibilities included gathering shopping carts, stocking items, and cleaning the store.

It wasn’t the most glamorous job in the world, but I can honestly say that I worked my hardest everyday and earned the respect of all my superiors and coworkers. It was also the most fun I ever had at a job in my life. Thankfully, I’ve been fortunate enough to work alongside some spectacular people at my current job.

While many of us aren’t in a predicament where we’re working our dream job, we should all take some pride in what we do for a living.

So in case no one else takes out the time to tell you on today or throughout the year, I’d like to personally say thank you for everything you do on your job. You hard work matters to God and it also matters to me.

Enjoy your day!

I know you read it, now prove it!

