Writing Reflections

The following are some random writing observations of mine. Hopefully, they can be of use to other writers in order to remind them that we all experience some unique personality quirks:

  • I write because it’s the one thing that comes naturally to me. At the same time it gives me more frustration than anything else.
  • I become very offended whenever I talk with non-writers who feel that writing is easy. They couldn’t be any further from the truth.
  • It’s taken me years, but I’ve finally caught onto the revelation that I should take out the time to write a specific amount of words every day whether they’re publishable or not.
  • Next to professional wrestling and Japanese animation, I have more books on writing than any other topic at home. I’ve learned the most from “On Writing Well” by William Zinsser and “Dancing on the Head of a Pen” by Robert Benson.
One of the best books on writing I've read.

One of the best books on writing I’ve read.

  • I’ve debated the pros and cons of working at a newspaper for years. Writing 2-3 stories per day would greatly improve my writing skills, but the level of stress would likely be too much for me to handle.
  • I write best under immense pressure, which is nothing to brag about. Writers are natural procrastinators.
  • I try my best to avoid reading anything I write after it’s been published. I’ll drive myself crazy thinking of ways I could’ve written it better.
  • I do some of my most focused writing at Starbucks. I always thought this was a myth until I started going there on a regular basis last year.
  • I rarely get any productive writing done at home as there are too many distractions.
  • Whenever people at my job or church compliment me on my writing I look at them in amazement. I feel like I’ve written very few things that are really great.
  • It’s extremely difficult for me to write on topics I have no personal interest in.
  • As a writer, the rapper Nas inspires me more than any other musical artist. One day I wish to write as clearly as he raps. I’d love to spend a day with him to observe how he writes such dense lyrics.
The rapper Nas is one of my writing inspirations.

The rapper Nas is one of my biggest writing influences.

2 thoughts on “Writing Reflections

  1. Hello, Jeuron! It’s been a long time. This post is great! I agree with everything. 🙂 Hope you and your bride are doing well. I’m so glad to know you’re still writing … AND, I’m not familiar with your favorite book so I’m going to check it out
    Oh… is this a new blog site?

    • Hi Jess! Yes it has been a while. My wife and I are doing well. This is the same blog, but with a different name. However, I’m debating on whether to change the name again since I’m not posting about too much wrestling at the moment.

      I’ve found a renewed purpose in writing as of late and am having a lot of fun with these recent posts about the writing lifestyle. I still keep up with you on Facebook and it appears that your writing is going well.

I know you read it, now prove it!

