Realizing when to step away from it all

keep-calm-and-take-a-step-back-1

I’m so looking forward to the upcoming Fourth of July weekend. Thankfully, I have tomorrow off from work which means I get a nice three-day break to enjoy.

And it’ll be a much needed one!

Due to various social obligations it seems that I’ve been running nonstop for the last several weekends.

I’m extremely grateful that my wife and I have so many incredible people in our lives who think it not robbery to invite us to their special events (birthday parties, baby showers, weddings, etc.), but at times the sheer volume of these events can be overwhelming.

At times we just need to get away from it all.

As a writer, it’s necessary to have that time where you can figuratively shut yourself off from the rest of the world.

Your next jolt of creativity could come from a leisurely activity such as lying around the house or watching an episode of your favorite television show.

While there is nothing wrong with building healthy relationships with the people God placed in your life, there is also nothing wrong with having some me time.

It just may be all the time you need to craft your next masterpiece.

I know you read it, now prove it!

