2014: My Year in Writing

While 2014 wasn’t my most prolific year in terms of blogging, it was certainly a productive year when it came to diversifying my writing portfolio.

I started out the year writing for Social Work Helper, a progressive online news site and Google+ news outlet. Their editor reached out to me in December of 2013 about my interest in writing for the website. I covered sports and entertainment news with a general focus on their philanthropic and community-based endeavors. It was a fun period where I learned a lot about producing content on a tight turnaround, plus it was the first time in years that I worked directly under someone in an editor-writer capacity.

Some of the highlights from my stint here included writing a story on Hugh Jackman’s Laughing Man Coffee, which was then retweeted on Laughing Man Coffee’s Twitter account. Fox 31 Denver linked my Jan. 30 Peyton Manning article to a story they ran the day following Super Bowl XLVIII.

Read: Peyton Manning Gives Back with his Peyback Foundation

Come summer I was seeking new writing opportunities when an ideal opportunity presented itself. A college friend of mine who works as deputy editor for Huami Magazine, a bimonthly publication distributed across Guilford County, North Carolina, allowed me to start freelancing. So far I’ve written five stories, all of which have been well received.

Read: Tracy Darden of Live Life Foundation

As fall commenced, I found myself undertaking even more writing responsibilities when I began working on the production of my church newsletter. The monthly newsletter contains stories focusing on central topics as dictated by my pastor, as well as summaries of past sermons presented in a concise, easy to read format.

So what am I up to now, aside from writing this very post?

I’m currently putting the finishing touches on the January newsletter, and beginning work on a biographical sketch I’ve been tapped to write for a friend’s upcoming foundation launch in February. I have several more writing projects in store for this year.

So while I only published a total of 32 blog posts last year, 2014 was arguably the most important year of my life when it came to the strides I made in my writing career.

3 thoughts on “2014: My Year in Writing

  1. I always enjoy your writing. As a fellow blogger, I always considered you, amongst others, my writing guru. I wish you nothing but the best in 2015.

I know you read it, now prove it!

