What I Learned From a J. Cole Story

I have no particular topic of interest to discuss today. I just felt like I needed to write something to keep the creative juices flowing.  In a sense, I kind of feel like a rapper. In between their major studio albums, rappers will often flood the market with mixtapes to keep their fans satisfied. That’s exactly what I feel like I’m doing today.

I hope everyone is having an enjoyable Tuesday.  Mine has been going pretty well. Thankfully the temperature in the office is much warmer than it was on yesterday. At times it’s freezing!

As far as future posts go, I’m trying to focus more heavily on music and anime-related topics. There will still be ample wrestling content, but I’m attempting to switch things up a tad.

On last Friday, I was very happy to see a story about rapper J. Cole on the front page of the Fayetteville Observer. It wasn’t so much that I’m his biggest fan (though he is good), but more so because one of my college classmates wrote the piece. The writer, Mike McCray, and I actually worked together on the student newspaper staff. He was way more committed to the pursuit of journalism than I was. He’s made quite the name for himself in the world of print and online media since graduation.

I thought it was cool how Mike, a Fayetteville native, was able to write about Cole, himself a Fayetteville native, and his efforts in giving back to the youth of the city. I was so inspired by the story that I printed a copy for a coworker of mine, also from Fayetteville. She loved it. I’m sure a good friend of mine, also from Fayetteville, would love the story as well.

Is the point of all this to show my affection for the lovely city of Fayetteville? Not quite.

It’s always a good feeling to see the people I know accomplish big things in their careers. Another of my former newspaper colleagues currently works for the Wall Street Journal. Do I wish I was at that level of success? Yes, but then again, I never really had much of a passion for news . That is likely the biggest reason why I never seriously pursued a career in the newspaper industry. Do I dream of being world renowned for my writing? Of course I do. In the meantime, I’m very happy to see my peers succeeding at their wildest dreams.

It gives me more hope that I’ll still wind up as the next Ernest Hemmingway, minus the suicidal ending!

J. Cole, center, smiles as he participates in a discussion of the book "Make It Happen" by Kevin Liles with male students from Westover and E.E. Smith during a Dreamville Book Club discussion in the Media Center at Westover High School on Thursday, March 7, 2013.

J. Cole, center, smiles as he participates in a discussion of the book “Make It Happen” by Kevin Liles with male students from Westover and E.E. Smith during a Dreamville Book Club discussion in the Media Center at Westover High School on Thursday, March 7, 2013.

4 thoughts on “What I Learned From a J. Cole Story

  1. That had to have been a blast for Cole(What about Lawler?) to be there. We had Ali show up at my highschool. One of the greatest days of my life.

I know you read it, now prove it!

