My Live Report from WWE Raw at the Greensboro Coliseum

Hey everyone! Last night, I attended WWE Raw from the Greensboro Coliseum in Greensboro, North Carolina. As I did with the Impact Wrestling show I attended a couple of months ago, I would like to share my thoughts from the evening:

  • This was by far the most interesting show I’ve attended if for no other reason than for the unique ticket situation I found myself in. I arrived to the arena around 6:40 and the show officially began at 7:30. As I was making my way to my seat, I encountered a friend who was in a section above me. Come to find out, there had been some kind of error with our tickets. Our seats were blocked off and most of the people on our rows had to get new seats. The ushers told us to wait on the front row while they figured out a solution. Eventually, they told us to go to the box office to have our tickets replaced. On the way there, we ended up stopping to play a game of WWE ’13, which I was clobbered in. Much to our surprise, they ended up sitting us together. However, as soon as our tickets were scanned for re-entry, the attendants told us they were used. So we went back and got new tickets again. They worked that time! So basically, we got to sit together in much better seats than we originally had. The only downside is that they took away my original pink ticket (I purchased it during Breast Cancer Awareness month) that really stood out amongst my collection of wrestling memorabilia.
  • As a result of our ticket situation, we missed all of WWE Superstars. From what I heard, Brodus Clay and Zack Ryder competed, so it wasn’t like we missed anything special.
  • The section we were in had lots of kids, but a fair number of older men. This is where things got weird.  It seemed as if the men didn’t react to anything for the entire show. I’m 27 and most of them appeared to be a good ten years older than I was and they didn’t even react to the commercials that aired plugging the recent Attitude Era and NWO DVD releases. My friend and I were making several references to old school wrestling throughout the evening and they acted as if they had no clue as to what we were talking about.
  • Not sure how it came across on television, but it was a pretty hot crowd for the most part. The building also appeared to be mostly full. I’d estimate about 10,000 people were in attendance.
  • Ryback was far and away the most popular guy on the show. Randy Orton was next followed by John Cena. It’s possible that I could be confusing Orton and Cena’s reactions, but Ryback was clearly positioned as the big star and the final segment with him against Punk and the Shield blew the roof off the building.
  • From what I saw, the most popular merchandise was John Cena’s “Salute to the Cenation” shirt. Tons of kids and adults wore them and I saw very few people wearing his latest 10th anniversary shirt. There were lots of fans with Ryback shirts.
  • The match of the night was the fatal four-way of Antonio Cesaro vs. Kofi Kingston vs. R-Truth vs. Wade Barrett. It was a long and very well worked match. I’d go so far as to say it was the best live WWE match I’ve seen. Everyone worked hard and there were a ton of good false finishes near the end. It was all action and there were some points where I honestly had no idea who would win. Cesaro was super impressive and really took his game to a new level. I can’t wait to go back and watch the match on You Tube because if it came across that good live, it must’ve looked awesome on television.
  • I was totally shocked to see Vince McMahon. It was my first time ever seeing him in person.
  • The C.M. Punk and Paul Heyman promo got a ton of heat.  They are magic together, so it was no surprise.
  • Compared how she is booked most weeks, AJ was scarcely used. She was only in a brief match with Tamina and wasn’t seen for the rest of the show.
  • It was really apparent that Miz is not working out well as a good guy. Punk just obliterated him on the mic in both of their segments. Miz is a natural bad guy and being good just doesn’t suit him.
  • The Shield got a ton of heat for their various attacks throughout the show. The fans definitely view them as something special.
  • I was surprised that the Cena & Sheamus vs. Dolph Ziggler & Big Show match went on so early. The crowd went crazy for the finishing sequence of the simultaneous Attitude Adjustment and White Noise.
  • As with any live show, it never ceases to amaze me how different the show is from what you watch on television. My friend was able to spot the production people and picked up on a lot of what they were doing. He even saw one of the stagehands direct the Shield to do one of their run-ins. During Sin Cara’s entrance, he had to wait on the ramp for about four minutes until the commercial break ended. We also had a great view of Michael Cole and Jerry Lawler and could see when they were getting information from the ring announcer and others. Plus it was neat to see the ring crew hustling to get things in place for the final segment.
  • No matter how many shows I attend, the shock of the pyro gets me every time!
5 thoughts on “My Live Report from WWE Raw at the Greensboro Coliseum

  1. Nifty! Should’ve asked for sign ideas! lol

    My favorite sign: Resling Phanz Kant Spele

    The FU/White Noise combo was really well done!

  2. Great blog. Glad you had fun. I kind of get bored with heel groups running in and attacking the babyfaces. The Shield guys are going to be major players, I think, don’t get me wrong, but I just am bored. Big heel group does weeks of run in. They eventually break up. A couple get over, and a couple of them fall by the wayside. Wash rinse repeat. The Cheerleader Group (forgot name), The Nexus, The Nexus Knockoffs (forgot their name ), now the Shield. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

    Anyway, I agree with the rest of the review. I am willing to give Miz more of a shot as a face. I like it actually. I think he was boring as a heel actually. LOL Oh well, to each his own. Punk and Heymen were great, even though I like Punk, I am not in love with him. Part of me can’t wait till they get that belt off of him.

    I hope he gets well soon. He IS a gem on the mic. Just not a huge fan of his ringwork for some reason.

    Did you see him being helped out of the ring?

I know you read it, now prove it!

