General

Your Favorite Blogger is Now Engaged!!!!

With so much happening in the last two weeks, I realized I hadn’t written about one of the more significant moments of my life. As if you are not able to tell from the title of this post, last week I made one of the biggest (and best) decisions when I asked the love of my life for her hand in marriage.

I had bought the ring back in July and made up in my mind that I was going to propose before the end of the year. However, if you were to tell me on Wednesday Oct. 24 that I would be proposing on that following Thursday, I would have never believed you. Personally, I was looking at doing it sometime in November, but recent tragic events have taught me to seize the day because tomorrow is never promised. We both love each other and want to spend the rest of our lives together so I figured there was no point in holding it off any longer. In fact, I didn’t even have a grandiose engagement plan. I woke up that morning and just kind of decided that it would be the day.

The moment itself was simple and reflective of our personalities. We’re both two reserved and mostly private people, yet can be surprisingly social when the situation arises. The moment also had a lot of unintentional hilarity.

We had a date that evening at our favorite park. It’s one of those huge botanical garden types of park where tons of people walk around.  Earlier in the day, I had informed my close friends, family and her family of my plans. One of my friends who happens to be a professional photographer offered to take pictures of the occasion free of charge.

My plan was to meet up at her place after getting off from work. She had a meeting to attend and didn’t get back to her place until a little after six. As I awaited her arrival, I couldn’t help but notice how dark it was getting outside. Then it hit me that it was no longer summer. Every previous trip of ours to the park had been during the summer months where it didn’t get dark until close to 8’oclock. As we hustled to the park, my mind was racing realizing that I had to rush our date and perform the deed as quickly as possible for maximum effect!

My photographer friend had got to the park shortly after we arrived and I was frequently checking my phone to keep tabs on his location. It had got pretty dark and as we were making our way across the park, my girl noticed a man standing off to the side with some kind of light. I’m sure it freaked her out a bit. I’m sure it freaked her out even more (in a positive way) when I yelled out to him and then proceeded to take my jacket off and bend down to one knee. I said a few words about our feelings for each other and how much I wanted to make her happy for the rest of her life. Within seconds she was officially my fiancée.

I must admit that it was one of the happiest days of both our lives. Later that evening, our phones and Facebook pages were bombarded with congratulatory messages from friends, family, coworkers and church members. Even when I was on campus for my college homecoming last week, nearly every old classmate and fraternity member I encountered congratulated me. It feels great to know so many people support any decision you make, especially one as important as this.

I’m truly a lucky man to be engaged to such a fantastic person. God has truly blessed me with his absolute best and we both will enjoy getting to learn more about each other during this new phase in our relationship.

17 thoughts on “Your Favorite Blogger is Now Engaged!!!!”

  1. What is there to say but just congrats and this story give me hope one day i be that lucky to find the guy who wants to spend the rest of his life with me.

    1. Thank you Terri. Glad we look so adorable. Lol. And the ring selection got rave reviews from all our friends and family. She even told me her coworkers loved it.

  2. Well isn’t this just about the best news I could read this morning. You both look wonderfully happy and I wish you all a lifetime of love, new adventures and maybe some little bloggets (children) one day!!

    Great news and Congratulations!!!!

    1. Awww thanks. I just met you and you’re already one of my favorite bloggers. You have no idea how much the well wishes mean to us. My hope is that we experience the same type of love that you and your husband have shared with each other in your 29 years of marriage.

I know you read it, now prove it!

