I’m 27 Years Young!

On Wednesday, October 10, I celebrated my 27th birthday. There are few things I enjoy as much as the feeling I get every year when I log into my Facebook account and discover the staggering number of notifications I receive of friends wishing me a happy birthday.  By the end of yesterday I believe close to a hundred people had posted a message to my profile. Moments like these remind me why I love social media so much!

I couldn’t afford to take off from work, but in hindsight, being at work was the highlight of my day. Upon arriving, a couple of ladies had told me they heard my birthday announced on the radio. They said the DJ told everyone who saw me to give me a birthday hug and before I knew it I was immediately hugged by all three of them. It was a sweet gesture.

I had a relaxing day at the office and it felt good to spend eight hours receiving warm wishes from my coworkers. In fact, my day began to go downhill as soon as I left work. After meeting up with my girlfriend (which was an interesting experience in and of itself), I encountered car problems and spent the rest of the evening working on my brakes. What a fun way to cap off the day. Lol.

When it was all said and done, I was just thankful to have lived to see 27 years. When I think back to some of the goals I wanted to have accomplished by this age, I realize that I haven’t reached a good percentage of them. However, I have a great quality of life along with some fantastic people who are part of it and I’d like to think I’ve at least made some progress in reaching a few of my goals.

I have three more years to go until the big 30. It’ll be interesting to see how many more goals I reach by then.

I know you read it, now prove it!

