General

International Coffee Day and the Story Behind a Cup of Joe

Not until watching the news this morning did I realize today was International Coffee Day. The irony is that I just got back from getting a free small cup of it from McDonald’s.

Coffee is the second most consumed beverage in the world after water. Most use it as a pick-me-up to start the workday, while others drink its various incarnations for a more soothing effect. Personally, I use it for the latter. I rarely drink coffee to give me a boost of energy. I tend to drink it twice a week typically on my way to work, so I wouldn’t necessarily describe myself as a coffee addict. And I do get the occasional iced latte or frappuccino whenever I visit Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts.

However, there is a lingering question I’d like to pose. Last night, I was a volunteer for a children’s lock-in we had at church. As I was talking to our young boys about the awesomeness of Dragonball-Z, we somehow got sidetracked and began discussing coffee. One of them asked why coffee is called a “cup of Joe.”

I couldn’t provide an answer, so I’d like to pose the question to my fellow bloggers. What is the story behind a cup of Joe??? I could find the answer on Google, but that wouldn’t be any fun. In honor of the day I’d also like for you to share any interesting stories you have your coffee drinking habits. As long as it deals with coffee then I’d like to hear about it.

Dunkin Donuts has a slogan that reads “America runs on Dunkin.” Well, it seems that the world really does run on coffee. Enjoy your cup!

I know you read it, now prove it!

