My First Blogging Anniversary!!!!! Yay!!!!!

“Allow me to reintroduce myself.”

Those five words signal the beginning to one of the most iconic songs from multiplatinum rapper and business mogul Jay-Z (Public Service Announcement, Black Album). Those words are also the basis of what I’d like to address today. This month marks the one-year anniversary of The Best Darn Multi-Purpose Blog Period! When I decided to try my hand at this venture (following unsuccessful attempts in 2005 and 2009) I made up in my mind that I would see it through to the end. 107 posts later and I’m still going strong.

Blogging is one of the few things in my life that gives me absolute creative freedom to be my real self. The wit, honesty, passion, humor and, at times, weirdness you see in every sentence is how I truly am 24/7. I take extreme pride in writing a blog that offers up such a diverse range of topics. I also take great pride in the relationships I’ve made in the blogosphere. Though I’ve never met any of you in person, there is a bond in our written language that is just as strong as the bond I have with family and friends I see on a daily basis.

So I’d like to take a moment to thank every single person that has read, liked, commented or subscribed over the last year. My ultimate goal has always been to make this blog as accessible as possible. Having 39 followers and 37 likes on its Facebook page is a sign that I’m doing something right.

But in keeping focus on topic, I want to take a moment to share some personal things about myself. Of course, there are some things that anyone can pick up on from reading a sampling of my work. Everyone knows I’m a huge fan of all things relating to professional wrestling and anime (Japanese animation). You all know I love to write and have aspirations of becoming a successful author. In addition to that there are several things that you may not be able to immediately pick up on at first glance. I’ve always been honest with you all and I think it’s time I take you on a behind the scenes look into what goes on inside my head:

  • I absolutely love to read. To be honest, the perfect job for me would involve being paid to do nothing but sit and read books all day. To me, a perfect weekend is staying locked up in my room reading my endless collection of wrestling, music and anime-related books.
  • I’m addicted to Wikipedia. Even at work, I find myself having random thoughts that have nothing to do with my task at hand and then I’ll search Wikipedia to find out more about them.
  • I’m naturally more comfortable around women than men. A large part of it has to do with the fact it seems like a woman has always played an important role in elevating me from one stage of my life to the next. Plus my girlfriend (who I plan on marrying) has a ton of sisters, so I’m basically going to have eight sister-in-laws one day. Sounds like fun. Lol. The fact that every job I’ve had has been in a predominately female environment may have something to do with it too. Now that I think about it, most of my best friends are women.
  • I’m very much behind the curve when it comes to technology. I didn’t purchase my first flip phone until 2008. I’ve upgraded since then, but not by much. I’m currently on a $50 per month unlimited text/talking prepaid plan. I’ve also never once used Facebook mobile and still don’t see the need  in owning a smartphone or e-reader.
  • My favorite song is Leave (Get Out) by pop singer JoJo. For some reason I’ve been hooked to that song since the first time I heard it in 2004. The funniest part is that I’ve never been through any situation the song describes. Here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ggWyUEuGcWY.
  • I listen to more Japanese pop music than any other genre. I have close to 300 J-pop songs on my iPod.
  • I’m big on treating every person special. I hate nothing more to come into contact with someone who thinks they are too good to speak to someone.
  • The most fun period of my life, aside from childhood and college years, were 2008-2009 and August 2011- May 2012. Those were the periods I did not have a full-time job and my daily routine consisted of working part-time as a bagger (which I loved), hanging with my coworkers and watching anime all day. That was the life!
  • To this day I believe that my five years of working as a bagger taught me more about myself and how to interact with others than five years of college ever did. I broke down and cried on my final day there because I loved that job.
  • My favorite TV shows are One Tree Hill, E.R. and Degrassi. And yes, I recently ordered season eleven of Degrassi.
  • I’m a perpetual youngster at heart (if you couldn’t tell by my favorite song and Degrassi) and watch large amounts of Teen Nick and Disney Channel. My biggest fear is to grow into an adult who punches a clock from 9-5 and doesn’t remember what it’s like to be a kid.
  • I strongly believe that parents should encourage their children in every dream they wish to achieve without any restrictions. If your child’s goal is to attend college halfway across the country, then you should let them. I think many kids have their dreams crushed by their parents before they ever get a chance to try.
  • I’m naturally indecisive. I know it’s not a good thing. I often feel like I have hundreds of thoughts swirling through my head, yet I’m uncertain about 90% of them.
  • I typically like to go order on the inside of  fast food restaurants, even when ordering something to go. I just don’t like using the drive thru.
  • I’m an usher at my church and am extremely nervous every time I do it for fear I will mess up.
  • I’ve never smoked.
  • My favorite anime series is Detective Conan (aka Case Closed).
  • My favorite wrestling match is the TLC match from the October 7, 2002 edition of Monday Night Raw. It featured Kane vs. Rob Van Dam & Jeff Hardy vs. Chris Jericho & Christian vs. Bubba Ray and Spike Dudley. Nonstop action from start to finish. Jim Ross called the match solo and did one of the best jobs of announcing I’ve seen.
  • I purchase all my anime (I never download it illegally) and have amassed quite the collection over the years. The following is a blog I wrote featuring pics of it: http://jeurondove.com/2012/04/24/a-look-at-my-freaking-huge-collection-of-anime/. Isn’t it beautiful?
  • The title of my blog is a direct takeoff from FSN’s Best D@#n Sports Show Period. I don’t curse so that is why I use the word darn.

Well, I think this is enough for now. Hope you enjoyed getting to know a bit more about your favorite blogger!!! Take care and thanks from the bottom of my heart for sticking with me for this long. I promise more good things are ahead.

2 thoughts on “My First Blogging Anniversary!!!!! Yay!!!!!

I know you read it, now prove it!

