My 100th post and 10 things that writers can learn from olympians

Today marks my 100th post on this site.  It only seems like only yesterday that I began my journey through the blogosphere. Aside from having a platform to share my views on numerous topics, the biggest thrill of this experience comes from the connection I form with my audience. I sincerely appreciate every bit of feedback I receive, and if only one person were to read this blog then all the effort would have still been worth it.

I look forward to venturing even further in the deep and presenting new things to keep you all informed and entertained.

As we all know, Olympic fever has officially swept the globe. As millions tune in every night to watch the best athletes in the world compete for the gold there are a few things that every writer can take from their example.

The following list is from Writer’s Relief, an author’s submission service that helps creative writers get published by targeting their poems, essays, short stories, and books to the best-suited literary agents or editors of literary journals. Their free, weekly newsletter includes publishing leads, submission tips, and motivational articles for writers at any stage of their career. The newsletter alone is a resource every writer should take advantage of.

10 Things Olympians Can Teach Creative Writers

1. Focus is everything.

2. When you hit a wall, push off it and get some new momentum.

3. The writing life is like the balance beam; you WILL fall off. Olympians get back up again (and again, and again, and again).

4. You can’t get to the big leagues without putting in your time. Practice, train, get confident; then trust your talent and all your hard work to carry you through.

5. When you’re competing at a high level, even the little things matter.

6. Listen to coaches you trust: Criticism isn’t personal when it’s productive.

7. Be so dedicated that dedication becomes habit, and the habit becomes who you are. Write regularly, read regularly, SUBMIT regularly.

8. Healthy competition will help you be the best you can be.

9. If you’re going to jump, jump as high as you can. If you’re going to swim, swim as hard as you can. If you’re going to write, write as hard and as intensely as you can.

10. Olympians don’t hesitate. They do not hoard their personal courage or save it for a rainy day. Every day, they give everything they have to give. Writers can too.

Thanks for reading and onward to 200!!!!!!!!!!

6 thoughts on “My 100th post and 10 things that writers can learn from olympians

    • Hey! Hope all has been well with you and your blogging endeavors. You were one of the first bloggers that really reached out to me when I started last year. Thanks for all your help and support.

      • Hey Jeuron! I haven’t been as active in the WordPress community as I was when I first started last year but I’m still around. Glad to see you kept going to meet this incredible milestone. And you’re welcome!

I know you read it, now prove it!

