There is no secret, or timeline, for success in writing

My worst fear has officially come true: I have become a slave to laziness and procrastination with my writing. Nothing can kill a promising writing career more than this. My natural instinct is to place the blame on my current employment situation for my lack of productivity. However, at the end of the day my success or failure as a writer depends solely on me.

When I started this job, my plan was to continue updating my blog on a regular basis while faithfully working on other writing projects in my spare time. Lately, I have found myself spending most of my time away from work sleeping and finding everything else to do aside from writing. The fact that I work in front of a computer monitor all day makes me less eager to sit down and type once I arrive home. As of now, I don’t see my blogging being a huge hindrance to my immediate writing future, but it’s a trap I’m not trying to fall into. One of the biggest pitfalls a writer can encounter is to have their blogging take precedence over their long-term writing goals.

I have an upcoming deadline for an article I’m writing for Southern Writers Magazine’s blog. I’ve completed my research and am ready to begin writing, but some odd force of nature is keeping me from going forth.

I should’ve had my article submitted by now so that the editor could have plenty of time to read it over in case there are any revisions that need to be made.

To the outside eye, it may appear that my blogging routine has been normal, but I can tell that my last few posts have lacked their usual punch. On top of this, I’m currently working on the concept for a wrestling book to pitch to ECW Press, a Canadian publishing house that specializes in the wrestling book market. I have the initial framework complete and now I just need to write a query they won’t be able to resist.

Two days ago I received my latest issue of Poets & Writers in the mail. The first thing that caught my attention was the excellent editor’s note from Kevin Larimer. In it he discussed how there are no excuses for obtaining success in writing, but with an interesting twist. The following is an excerpt of what he wrote:

“No excuses. It’s typically used to remind us how, when all is said and done, the writer must write, period. It’s a battle cry against procrastination and I appreciate its efficacy. After all, I can come up with a year’s worth of things that need to be done before I sit down to finish my book. But this prohibition on excuses strikes me as a mere headline, appealing to those who think riches await if only they can commit to a rigorous writing schedule…The writing life is messy, and there’s no secret to success. Instead, there are many paths leading to where you want to go.”

Reading this made me feel a little better. Now it’s time to get back to the task at hand.

I know you read it, now prove it!

