General

Is There a Such Thing as Too Much Technology?

Does anyone ever wonder if our society has become too reliant on the usage of technology?

Don’t get me wrong. I believe that technology is important. Heck, you need it to survive and function in the world we live in, but I have to wonder if we have reached a point where we spend so much time doing things electronically that we’ve lost touch with how to communicate with people face-to-face?

I bring this up after a conversation I was involved in with two older coworkers on last week. As we were headed to lunch together we began to talk about the various things their children had been up to. One remarked that upon seeing the monthly cell phone bill for their family, they came to discover that their child had sent close to 5,000 text messages in one month (thankfully their plan includes free text messaging). That may very well be commonplace these days, but it was a shock to me that a human being could text that much in a 30 day period. I don’t come close to sending that many texts in an entire year.

The other coworker then made a remark that resonated with me. They said that the kids growing up today have so much technology constantly being put in front of them that they will grow into a generation of people that won’t know how to properly communicate with others. How true indeed.

There will always be more advanced iPods, phones, apps, video games and other devices which seem to take away from interacting with living breathing humans.

Next time you go to a public facility (especially a mall or outdoor shopping center) take notice of the people you walk by who barely make eye contact with you due to being preoccupied with their mobile device or MP3 player. It seems as if people are scared to be alone and enjoy the sights and sounds of life around them.

And it’s not just prevalent amongst the younger generation. My generation does it just as much. At times I’ve joked at how I believe some people constantly walk while texting repeatedly just to make themselves look important. I don’t believe there is anything in life important enough to warrant a phone being connected to your ear (or text keyboard in front of your face) every second of every day.

Technology is awesome and has made our lives much simpler. At the same time our overreliance on it has made us far too disconnected to the real world.

4 thoughts on “Is There a Such Thing as Too Much Technology?”

  1. You are so right. I admit, I do it too. It is like my phone is attached to my hand. One thing I get annoyed with as a sports fan is when I watch an NFL game, and when they do closeups of the fans in the crowd, OH LORD, it ticks me off to see fans on their cell phones. I am like, “Dude, why are you on the phone? ” “You spent all the money and such….” I guess they try to look important.

    Great job.

    1. Don’t worry Terri. You’re not alone. Lol. I was talking to my girlfriend earlier today and she told me that the first thing she does after she wakes up is check her phone. Good grief!!! Still love you both though:-)

  2. The sociological aspect is quite apparent, rude, inconsiderate and obnoxious. I purposely leave the phone at home during many outings… dining out, movies, whatever.

    During a recent visit to a well known Aquarium in my neck of the woods, I saw this guy recording a close up shark encounter through the screen of his kicking-ass phone, except for a couple stealing glances and adjustments he missed out entirely on it, I did too a little bit from watching him so you could argue who was dumber then, I’ll give you that! …but I could not believe it, we are doomed!

    Another point is the lack of navigational skills people have as a byproduct of electronics dependency, it helps to know your relative heading and location no matter where you are, without relaying on GPS and such, could be in city streets, roads, freeways or isolated areas, it’s no wonder to see all these noob hikers in the news lost for days, some actually pay the ultimate price.

    1. I agree with you 100%. I used to work at a grocery store and I always found it extremely rude when customers would come through my line and spend the entire time of their transaction on the phone. It’s like their conversation was so important that they couldn’t put the phoe down for one second to show some common courtesy. I rarely take my phone inside with me whenever I go to church, work or an outing with a friend. If I do happen to take it with me then I won’t use it unless it’s an emergency.

      I don’t own a navigation system and still rely on Mapquest or basic directions from my friends to get to most new places. I guess I’m old school when it comes to that! Lol

I know you read it, now prove it!

