The Job is Here!

A few weeks ago I expressed the feeling that a new job was on the horizon ( and I’m happy to report that I was officially hired for a new full-time position yesterday at North Carolina A&T State University. It’s a temp position that is slated to last for six months. However, my supervisor informed me that it could be extended up to a year. I’m praying that it somehow transitions into a permanent position with benefits. Regardless, I’m thrilled about the job. The most exciting part about all of this was that it was such a quick process.

Last week, I received an e-mail from one of my old coworkers there. We never worked side by side or in the same building, but we worked in the same division of University Advancement. She is one of the nicest people I met during my tenure as an employee and even treated me to lunch during my final week of employment.

In the message she asked what my recent employment status was. I replied that I was still searching for full-time work. She quickly sent me a reply saying that a new temp position was opening in her area and she wanted to inform me before she posted it online. She told me she’d contact me at the top of the week.

On Tuesday I got another message informing me I had an interview scheduled with her for Thursday at 9:30 a.m. and to report to human resources for a background check. In my mind it already sounded like I had the position. But I wanted to be professional as always, so I put together my portfolio and laid out a nice outfit to wear. Regardless of what the situation was, I wanted to look as presentable as possible.

I arrived at her office yesterday morning and it was the shortest interview I ever completed. I already had the job!

She briefed me on the responsibilities of the position and told me all the necessary paperwork had been completed and is currently being processed. It warmed my heart when she told me about how she felt I was overqualified and kept my name in mind since she knew I was looking for full-time work. We  concluded the interview on a hug and she appeared genuinely thrilled to have me as part of her team. How many people can say they have hugged their future boss during an interview?

This is my third time being employed at N.C. A&T. My first job, from Feb. 2010-Feb. 2011, was a great learning experience. It also allowed me to grow professionally as a writer (I got a ton of good clips from that position). My previous job, from last April-July, was not only one of the worst periods of my career, but it was one of the worst periods of my life. It was a time where I truly dreaded waking up to report to work. I learned much about my character while there so I got something positive (that was the only thing) out of the experience.

I’m so excited about this opportunity for two reasons. The first is that I’m working with people I consider as friends. It felt so great to be in the office yesterday and reacquaint myself with familiar faces. They were so happy to see me and were eager to welcome me back into the fold. The second and more important reason is that I will get a chance to start from a clean slate in proving that I am a capable and competent employee. I always had a bad taste in my mouth from how my last tenure abruptly ended. I feel like I have been given another opportunity to rewrite my legacy at N.C. A&T and end things on a positive note.

Once my background is cleared, I’m scheduled to begin on May 21. It looks like my days of hanging around the house and staying up until the wee hours of the morning are coming to an end.

2 thoughts on “The Job is Here!

I know you read it, now prove it!

