A Look at my Incredibly Huge Collection of Anime

Here is a look into my extensive collection of anime (Japanese cartoons) and manga (Japanese comics). Well, the manga collection isn’t so extensive I guess.

I’ve been an anime fan since 2000 and I’ve been collecting since 2004. I started off watching a lot of action-oriented shows like Dragonball-Z. Today, I watch just about anything I can get my hands on with the exception of hentai (sexually explicit) material.

My collection started out with a few discs here and there. Then it grew… grew some more… and continued to grow until I had to get a new bookshelf to store it all. When I ran out of space I began to stack the boxes on top of each other. As you can tell, I take anime very seriously. It’s my number three hobby right under professional wrestling and writing.

Some of my friends have asked why I collect anime when I can watch it online for free. There are three reasons why I purchase all of my anime and will continue to do so.

First, I refuse to watch anything in subtitles and I like the English-language audio of all the anime I own. I watch television to relax and I feel that reading tiny subtitles in order to understand what’s happening is too much work. If I want to read then I’ll grab a book.

Next, I purchase because of the cool artwork of the DVD cases. All the neat designs of the series really make my collection stand out.

Lastly, I purchase my anime because it’s the right thing to do. I’m certainly not knocking any fan that doesn’t. Plus, there are websites where you can legally stream the latest anime. One of the most popular of these sites is Crunchyroll. A lot of hard work goes into the production and licensing of anime and the best thing I can do as a fan is to support the medium through legally obtaining my shows. Illegal streaming has really hurt the economic infrastructure of the anime industry in North America. It played a part in the downsizing and demise of once prominent distributors such as Bandai Entertainment, ADV Films, Geneon and Central Park Media. The more anime is illegally downloaded and viewed, the less revenue the industry makes, which hurts the pocketbooks of the people responsible for bringing anime to us in the first place. The anime industry is still thriving here, but not like it was at its popularity and business peak eight years ago.

Hope you anime fans, or those curious about anime, enjoy this and feel free to drop me a line if you have any questions or comments.

2 thoughts on “A Look at my Incredibly Huge Collection of Anime

I know you read it, now prove it!

