My Next Job is Right Around the Corner

Hi everyone. I must admit that I have not been in my typical writing mood this week. I’ve had a difficult time mustering up the energy to write about anything. A large part of the reason is that I’ve been spending this week focusing on my job search.

I’m thankful to be able to collect unemployment while still working a part-time job, but I’m hungry for full-time employment doing something I enjoy. Plus, unemployment benefits won’t last forever. I’ve been looking into a few writing related jobs and some of my friends have been helping me revise my cover letter and resume. I feel as if I’m making more progress in my job search efforts and am closer than ever to finding the job that will be a perfect fit for me.

My work week has been intense. After Easter, I thought business would be back to normal at the grocery store, but to my surprise, we have been as busy as ever. It seems as if everyone in Reidsville must’ve inhaled all the groceries they bought last week. Today was particularly rough since it was one of those days when everything that could go wrong went wrong. We were terribly understaffed and it seemed like every customer was buying enough food for a second Easter dinner. There were also a lot of technical difficulties that occurred which were outside of our control. I pride myself on being a hard worker on the job, but today was one of the rare occasions where I felt like I left everything at the store.  I was genuinely exhausted after I got off and even dozed off to sleep a few times while watching some television a little while ago. That’s highly uncommon for me since I’m a night owl.

I also feel I’m at the point, or close to it, where I’m getting tired of my job. I love the people I work with and have fun every day I go in, but I feel like I’m capable of so much more. So many of my friends I went to school with are working excellent jobs and making good money in their careers. I recently updated my profile on LinkedIn and was surprised to see how well my peers are doing professionally. I’m very happy for them, but I’m a bit jealous. I’m ready to start living my dream and making a respectable salary as too. I have the education, experience and credentials. I just need that one break to make everything happen.

4 thoughts on “My Next Job is Right Around the Corner

  1. I have learned when we stop expecting is when it happens.. Just keep a positive attitude, head up and watch it happen..
    wishing you the best for that job!!

    • I will certainly keep up the positive attitude! This may be the first post I’ve written where I basically vented about an issue. I will not make this a habit. Plus my pastor always says it’s best to not be anxious about anything. I’m sure the job is on the way soon. I just have to keep pressing through and not give up.

      Thanks for the encouraging words as always Lynne:-)

    • At least I’m not alone! Hopefully, this is the last time we’ll ever have a week like this on our blogs.

      I felt like I wasn’t putting out the quality of work (or work period) that my readers have come to expect. I feel more weird because it was the first week I’ve had in months where writing wasn’t my top priority.

      Thanks Ray and keep up the good work. I always enjoy reading your stuff bro.

I know you read it, now prove it!

