How My Story Became the Featured Blog Entry for Southern Writers Magazine

Hello everyone. Every writer has those moments in their career, or on the path to publication, that serves as a breakthrough moment. I’m happy to announce that yesterday was my breakthrough moment.

But like any good writer, I must set the atmosphere of the events that led up to it.

Last Monday as I was leaving from work, a coworker (who writes as well and is a dear friend) told me I should consider joining a writers group. She discussed that it would be a great benefit towards improving my craft and re-fueling my passion. Even though we all enjoy to write, we must be honest enough to admit there are times when our creative well runs dry.

She recommended I join the Facebook fan page for the Southern Writers Magazine. SWM is a bi-monthly publication packed with inspiration and advice from popular, published authors sharing their secrets of success, as well as articles by experts on book marketing, promotion, branding, blogging, screenwriting, songwriting, conferences and much more. They have over 900 fans on Facebook so it’s a great deal of exposure.

Once I arrived home I clicked the “like” button on their page and began to do a bit of research. I saw they had a special promotion on their weekday blog,“Suite T”, for the month of February. You could submit a 500 word or less article about one of the four topics of love they had listed. I chose to do mine on the topic “When I Fell in Love with Writing.” Every week, they select an entry to be the featured guest blog on the site.

On that evening, I quickly wrote the first few things that pooped into my mind about my love of writing. I polished it up a few times before finally submitting it. I knew it was a decent piece, but I didn’t really think I’d hear back from them about it.

Yesterday afternoon, I was stunned to check to my e-mail and discover I had a message from the social media director of SWM. They informed me that my entry was selected for this week and will be featured on their blog and on their Facebook and Twitter pages. You can read it at  http://southernwritersmagazine.blogspot.com/2012/02/committed-relationshipwith-writing.html?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=facebook.

This has been the best writing-realted news of the year for me and like I’ve said numerous times, I will make my writing dreams come true in 2012!!!!!! I’d like to encourage every writer to stick to your dreams and continue to stay true to your craft. If so, then nothing but success will come from it. And last but not least, I’d like to send a special thanks to Lisa Flint and D’toya Colson for always reminding me that my writing dreams are firmly in my grasp.

8 thoughts on “How My Story Became the Featured Blog Entry for Southern Writers Magazine

I know you read it, now prove it!

