I’ve Submitted my First Story for Publication!

Hello bloggers. Anyone that has read my blog for any sustainable amount of time knows that writing is one of my deepest passions. My particular goal this year is to start work on my first book and to jumpstart my freelance writing career. I completed the first big step of the latter goal on Feb. 8 when I submitted my first creative nonfiction essay to Literal Latte, a New York based literary journal. This is a huge deal for me as this is the first piece of work I’ve submitted to any literary publication. I learned about the publication from an article I read in the October 2011 issue of Writer’s Digest and figured it would be the perfect outlet to showcase my work. The following is their mission statement:

“Our goal has always been to promote new writers and encourage a love of literature in new audiences. For over 10 years we offered 30,000 copies six times per year, free of charge, in coffeehouses, bookstores and arts organizations in New York City. Now we are free online, caffeinating minds and stimulating careers.”

I went to their website and read their submission guidelines and then went to work on my essay. I actually began work on the essay in early January and spent weeks revising it until I felt like I had made all the necessary corrections. Literal Latte usually takes about three months to respond to submissions, but I’m hoping it will be a much shorter period than that.

The most important goal of any writer is to get their work out to the general public. You can write the greatest story in the world, but it’s pointless if you never submit it for publication. Even if my essay is rejected, I’ll just polish it up and submit it somewhere else. This is just the beginning as I plan on writing and submitting many more freelance pieces this year. At least I can take solace in the fact I’ve taken another step in making my writing goals for 2012 come true.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Submitted my First Story for Publication!

  1. That’s wonderful Jeuron! Congratulations and best of luck.With any luck we will both be published writers within the next year or two.

I know you read it, now prove it!

