Death Never Takes Time Off, Even on Holidays

First, I hope that everyone had a great Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanza, or whatever holiday you celebrate during this time of the year. Since most of my readers are American, I’ll go with the assumption that most of us celebrated Christmas on yesterday. Lol.

One thing I’ve noticed over the years is that Christmas, for me, has become less and less about the receiving and more about the giving. As a kid, I never thought I’d see the day where I could go through a Christmas without receiving any real significant gifts and still be happy. Well, I guess mom cooking Christmas dinner is enough of a present as far as I’m concerned!

What I really want to discuss today is loss. This morning, I found out the news that one of my favorite aunts passed away last night. I can only assume it was last night since my dad told me she was found in her home this morning. She was in her early sixties and was the oldest of my dad’s six brothers and sisters. The most ironic thing is that my dad talked to her yesterday and said that she appeared to be feeling great. She had been on oxygen as of late and had some minor surgery within the last year (can’t remember what the surgery was on). I believe that she only had to be hooked up to the oxygen tank when she slept, but she was still able to get around and perform her daily tasks like anyone else.

My last time seeing her was at our family reunion in October. She was the same funny and opinionated (she was never afraid to let anyone know how she really felt!) person I always remembered and she was so glad that I finally had brought a girlfriend to a family outing. In fact, before I left that day I had given my girlfriend a tour of her place. I love all my aunts on my dad’s side, but I must admit she was special.

I take death pretty well, but I’m sure that it hit my dad and his siblings alot harder. I think the one thing that sucks the most is that she had to die during the holidays. Death is horrible any way you look at it, but it’s like the pain is magnified 100% when it happens during this time of year.

Every holiday season, my pastor always takes out the time to discuss the importance of praying for those that have lost loved ones during this time of year. One lady in my church just buried her mom on last week. I can’t imagine how that would feel. It would have to be incredibly hard to think about stocking stuffers and egg nog after experiencing that. Now for the rest of her life, and my dad’s family, Christmas will be a time of bittersweet memories.

So I would like to end this post by reminding everyone to always be mindful of those who have lost loved ones during this time of year. The holidays should always be a time of pure joy, but for those missing a loved one, it‘s often considered the most painful time of the year.

I know you read it, now prove it!

