Holiday Musings and Substitute Teaching

Hey everyone. I hope you’re all enjoying the holiday season thus far. I haven’t posted anything in over a week so I felt I needed to get something out, even if it’s just a little update. I’ve written new stuff, but then decided to not post it after taking a second glance. I take my blogging seriously and I never want to put out anything that is less than my best possible effort. I’ve also encountered a bit of writer’s… umm… blogger’s block. If there is one thing I know about writing then it’s that the best cure for a case of writer’s block is to sit down and actually write something.

Switching gears, I’m not sure what the general consensus is amongst most of America, but this has got to be the most untraditional holiday season I’ve ever experienced. I literally cannot believe that Christmas is this Sunday. I think a large part of it has to do with the weather pattern (especially in NC). Our temperature has been hovering around the mid 50-60 degree mark for  the last few months. We had one of the worst summers in history and it seems as if we’re not going to get any consistent cold weather. This frustrates me since I recently bought a new winter coat and will likely not be able to wear it anytime in the immediate future. That sucks. Lol.

In other news, I’ve switched up on some career plans of mine. My main goal is still to become a successful author, but I’ve been exploring some new employment options. Being that the job market for journalism/communications related jobs hasn’t been too accepting of me over the last few months (I’ve applied to nearly 30 related jobs), I’ve decided to become a substitute teacher. I help with the children’s ministry at my church and did some work last year with a local elementary school (for which I got very positive feedback). I even have a way with entertaining the kids that come through my line at work!

I figured that being a substitute would be the smartest way to test out whether or not I’m cut out for being a real teacher. I hear that being a substitute is a great way to break into the teaching field and I believe there are programs in my state that would assist me in paying for my education if I decided to go back to school and obtain my teaching credentials. For years, people have always asked me if I planned on going back to school for a master’s and I would proudly answer “no.” That time may have finally come. There are also many types of lateral entry programs available to people, like myself, who didn’t graduate from college as an education major. I’ve filed an application and am currently in the process of getting my reference letters submitted. I should receive some notification by mid-January to let me know if I made the cut or not. If so, then I’ll take an orientation course in February.

Many people I attended college with who didn’t major in education have gone on to a career in teaching. Teachers are always in demand so I shouldn’t ever have to worry about job security. Plus I would have my summers off!

Well, I hope that everyone reading this will have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. It may sound clichéd, but this time of year really isn’t about getting the most expensive or flashy gift. I got a box of Christmas cards and made them out to my coworkers. I gave them out at work earlier today and they were all so happy and appreciative that someone took out the time to do something nice like that for them. And that box of cards came up to a whopping total of $4. This is proof positive that happiness can be obtained for under five bucks even during this time of economic uncertainty our country is facing!

In all seriousness, I would like for everyone to do their part in bringing a smile to someone’s face during this time of the year. Whether it’s through a card, gift, or phone call, do your best to bring a little happiness into the life of someone else. You won’t regret it.

 

5 thoughts on “Holiday Musings and Substitute Teaching

  1. Yours is actually the only card I’ve gotten this year. I DO appreciate the thought =) Hopefully mine will be finished to bring in after tomorrow lol.

  2. You’re very welcome Brandie:) I enjoy doing the cards every year for my friends. The joy it brings to them makes it worthwhile. Plus it’s so freakin affordable!!! Cards rule!!!!

  3. I certainly enjoyed my year long stint of substitute teaching. You’ve got to say that teaching in some capacity or another runs in our blood, babe! Merry Christmas to you and the family! Nikki D. Felder

    • Thanks Nikki! I guess you’re right about that. I defintely think it’s something I’d enjoy for the time being. And who knows…it could lead to bigger things. And best holiday wishes to you and your family as well cuz!!!

I know you read it, now prove it!

