The Number One Bit of Advice for Making Dreams Come True: Start Running, Now!

Hello. Today, I want to share something I think everyone (my subscribers especially!) will enjoy. I want to talk a little about dreams.

For as long as I can remember, I (as well as most of you) have been told to reach for our dreams. You know the lecture: “No matter how hard and impossible they may be, as long you work hard and never give up, they will become a reality.”

I’ve always wondered about how people really achieve great things in life. Did Jay-Z just wake up one morning as the single greatest rapper of all time? Did Barack Obama listen to Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech hundreds of times until it was embedded in his mind that he could one day become the president of the United States? As George Clooney progressed throughout his acting classes and first major roles, did he envision himself being among the best actors of his generation?

At first glance it may seem as if there is some special genetic code in celebrities and important public figures that give them an ability to succeed beyond their wildest dreams. In reality, they are people just like you and I. They were born with special talents that they considered important enough to improve on everyday. I don’t believe in overnight success stories. Anyone who has ever been great at what they do for a living had to work extremely hard at it.

I read a very interesting fact about famous horror/suspense writer Stephen King last week. It was in an excerpt from the September 2011 issue of Writer’s Digest magazine. Here it is:

“Stephen King served as a janitor for a high school while struggling to get his fiction published. His time wheeling the cart through the halls inspired him to write the opening girls’ locker room scene in Carrie, which would become his breakout novel.”

If a man who worked as a janitor could go on to become a New York Times bestselling author, then I truly believe that anything is possible. Growing up, I only thought certain people could attain the really big thing in life. I was raised in a great household and grew up in church, but I always thought it was out the realm of possibility to achieve the spectacular things. Instead, I’ve come to realize that it really does take hard work and a bit of patience.

As I said earlier, success doesn’t come overnight. However, I believe only those who chase after their dreams are the ones who ultimately catch them.

Looks like it’s time to start running!

To further illustrate my message I chose to include a video of a song from the Disney Channel movie, Lemonade Mouth. The name of the song is Breakthrough and the lyrics are very appropriate to what this article is about. Enjoy!

I know you read it, now prove it!

