Why It’s Impossible to Run Away From Writing

Writing is something I’ve been able to do relatively well for as long as I can remember. A few months ago as I was looking through some childhood photos I came across a bunch of materials from elementary school days. Enclosed in a folder was a fourth grade progress report. When commenting on my academic progress my teacher wrote the following:

“Jeuron Dove is has done well in all areas of study this marking period. His writing is exceptionally good—I enjoyed reading his journal.”

Honestly, writing is a terrifying endeavor. There are times where I literally have to pump myself up before posting an entry to this blog. Putting your thoughts out there for the world to observe and judge is one of the craziest things a person can do.  Despite the hard knocks and occasional bouts of writers block, so many significant milestones in my life have come as a result of writing.

I enjoy writing, but I’m going to let you in on a little secret: I’m a lazy writer! I believe laziness and fear have prevented me from becoming a truly phenomenal writer.

In college, I was news editor and copy desk chief for the student newspaper. My stint in both positions were cut short. I was burnt out from the responsibilities and never put forth my best effort. I often look back and wonder how different my life would be had I really applied myself. Several of the staff members I worked with have gone on to thriving careers in journalism.

About two years ago, one of my former college classmates offered me an opportunity to join her in writing content for an online sports publication. I declined on the basis of having other duties on my plate. The truth is that writing about sports isn’t my cup of tea. I remember reading something a long time ago about never turning down an opportunity to write.  That classmate sent me a rather blunt email chastising my lack of dedication for perfecting my craft.

Even though her words stung, they were truthful. There was a serious disconnect between my writing goals and the work required to turn them into a reality.

Fast forward to Thursday evening.

I was checking my email as usual when I came across a LinkedIn invitation. LinkedIn is a professional social networking site. I regularly get invitations, but this one came with a message asking if I was interested in becoming a political news blogger for an online digital magazine. I was initially worried about committing since I hadn’t followed politics on a regular basis in many years.

We exchanged a few emails and she informed me that there were other areas I could cover aside from politics. I expressed my interest and we will  further discuss my role after the New Year.

Even if it turns out to be something that I don’t want to do for an extended period of time, at least I can say I gave it a fair shot.

At times it seems that writing is something that I can’t get away from. I’m currently in the midst of searching for new employment, or rather, trying to figure out what I want to do for the rest of my life. Every time I ask someone for their opinion on what I’m best suited for the answer always comes back to writing.

This morning I got an email from a friend asking me to take a glance at two articles he’s looking to submit to a wrestling website.

At my job, I’m often asked to review and write minutes and proofread announcements. Maybe writing is one of those things that I do so well that I don’t see it as anything out of the ordinary.  Don’t get me wrong. I’m not being arrogant at all. Quite to the contrary, I’m extremely critical of my writing and always think there is room for improvement. Perhaps too much.

I often hear that people run away from their true calling in life. A common example I see is that of a person converting to Christianity. Although the hand of God may be on their life at an early age, they turn away from him until reaching rock bottom (or until they are faced with some insurmountable challenge).  Only at that moment do they realize that God is the only one that can bring them out of their situation. They will accept Christ into their hearts and spend the rest of their life sharing their faith with others.

The events of the last couple of days have caused me to think that this writing stuff is the only thing I should focus on.

At the same time it wouldn’t hurt if I listened to God’s voice a bit more closely.

3 thoughts on “Why It’s Impossible to Run Away From Writing

  1. If the writing thing doesn’t work out for you(get to a level you just can’t get over), you can always try proofreading.

I know you read it, now prove it!

